About us

Welcome to the official website

of the Korean Branch of the International Law Association.

About us

About the Republic of Korea

The Republic of Korea ('South Korea')

lies bewteen 38°N. and 33°N. latitude and 126°E. to 132°E. longitude, Far East Asia. The country faces Japan across the East Sea and China across the Yellow Sea. To the north, South Korea is in contiguity with Democratic People's Republic of Korea (known as 'North Korea'), and DMZ, Demilitarized Zone, divides two areas along the border line.

Korea is a peninsula surrounded by water on three sides. To the east is the East Sea, to the west Yellow Sea, and to the south East China Sea. East China Sea, Nam-Hae in Korean, has many islands ranging from small ones to large ones and is called Dadohae, meaning many islnads. The Yellow Sea has a long range of tidal mudflat, a rich repository of sea creatures. In contrast, to the east the water is very deep and volcanic islands of Ulleungdo and Dokdo are located on the far East Sea.

대한민국은 극동아시아 북위 33°~38° 동경 126°~132°에 위치합니다. 동해를 마주하여 일본이 있으며, 황해를 마주하여 중국이 있습니다. 북쪽으로는 북한과 인접해 있으며, 북한과의 경계를 구분하는 DMZ(비무장지대)가 있습니다.

한국은 삼면이 물로 둘러싸인 반도입니다. 동쪽에는 동해, 서쪽에는 황해, 남쪽에는 동중국해(한국명 남해)가 있습니다. 남해는 작고 큰 섬들이 많아서 다도해라고 불립니다. 황해에는 바다생물의 주요 서식지인 갯벌이 길게 자리잡고 있습니다. 동해는 수심이 매우 깊은 특색이 있으며, 화산섬인 울릉도와 독도가 위치하고 있습니다.